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	<title>Netconcepts</title>
	<link>http://www.netconcepts.com</link>
	<description>Specialists in SEO, web dev, online marketing, and ecommerce</description>
	<pubDate>Tue, 08 Jul 2008 19:45:53 +0000</pubDate>
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		<managingEditor>megan@netconcepts.com ()</managingEditor>
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<itunes:category text="Business">
  <itunes:category text="Management &amp; Marketing"/>
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			<itunes:email>megan@netconcepts.com</itunes:email>
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			<title>Netconcepts</title>
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		<item>
		<title>When SEO Isn&#8217;t Really SEO</title>
		<link>http://www.netconcepts.com/when-seo-isnt-really-seo/</link>
		<comments>http://www.netconcepts.com/when-seo-isnt-really-seo/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 31 Mar 2008 15:29:24 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Jeff Muendel</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[Learning Center]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Optimization]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[Web Marketing]]></category>
<category>Articles</category><category>online marketing</category><category>SEO</category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.netconcepts.com/when-seo-isnt-really-seo/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Do you know what the difference is between SEO and online marketing? Confused about the terminology? In this article featured on Practical eCommerce, Jeff Muendel discusses how SEO is a specialty within the online marketing field.
By definition, SEO refers to the process of optimizing a website with the goal of having major search engines (primarily [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Do you know what the difference is between SEO and online marketing? Confused about the terminology? In this article featured on Practical eCommerce, Jeff Muendel discusses how SEO is a specialty within the online marketing field.</p>
<blockquote><p>By definition, SEO refers to the process of optimizing a website with the goal of having major search engines (primarily Google, Yahoo! and MSN Live Search) return pages from that website in highly-ranked search engine results. SEO is almost always employed as a form of marketing, but it is a very specific form of marketing that takes place within the search engines.</p>
<p>Lately, some industry blogs have suggested that SEO has grown beyond its primary parameters, suggesting that successful SEO includes expanding into other realms of marketing. I don&#8217;t think that makes any sense. By definition, SEO - search engine optimization - does not include any form of marketing that goes outside of search engines. The use of the term SEO in such a way is disingenuous and confuses many webmasters and owners of ecommerce sites.</p></blockquote>
<p>For more about this controversial topic, visit the full article on Practical eCommerce <a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.practicalecommerce.com/articles/706/When-SEO-Isnt-Really-SEO/">here</a>.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<item>
		<title>Optimize Local Events with hCalendar Microformat</title>
		<link>http://www.netconcepts.com/optimize-local-events-with-hcalendar-microformat/</link>
		<comments>http://www.netconcepts.com/optimize-local-events-with-hcalendar-microformat/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 11 Mar 2008 18:19:15 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chris Smith</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[Learning Center]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Optimization]]></category>
<category>Articles</category><category>local search</category><category>SEO</category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.netconcepts.com/optimize-local-events-with-hcalendar-microformat/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>I've run across a number of local business sites which offer event calendars of some sort, and many of these companies may not be aware that they can and should add <a rel="nofollow" href="http://microformats.org/wiki/hcalendar">hCalendar Microformat</a> to their pages to further optimize them for both search and user experience. I've previously recommended <a rel="nofollow" href="http://searchengineland.com/071015-123143.php">hCard Microformat</a> for optimizing local business sites, and hCalendar can offer similar advantages, particularly as the evolution of <a rel="nofollow" href="http://searchengineland.com/071127-091128.php">blended search results</a> continues.</p>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I&#8217;ve run across a number of local business sites which offer event calendars of some sort, and many of these companies may not be aware that they can and should add <a rel="nofollow" href="http://microformats.org/wiki/hcalendar">hCalendar Microformat</a> to their pages to further optimize them for both search and user experience. I&#8217;ve previously recommended <a rel="nofollow" href="http://searchengineland.com/071015-123143.php">hCard Microformat</a> for optimizing local business sites, and hCalendar can offer similar advantages, particularly as the evolution of <a rel="nofollow" href="http://searchengineland.com/071127-091128.php">blended search results</a> continues.</p>
<p>I&#8217;ve seen store locator pages which list all the events happening at all of a company&#8217;s outlets, as well as smaller scope events such as custom wine tastings or special holiday meals at restaurants. Even otherwise staid companies often participate in charity events in their areas. When you think of optimizing for local events content, the concept can apply to many types of businesses in addition to obviously event-oriented businesses like theaters and sporting event centers.</p>
<p>The direct advantage of tagging this date-driven content with Microformatting is that it allows visitors to harvest that information, save it, and take it with them to other systems they already use for planning. Users who have browser toolbars like <a rel="nofollow" href="https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/4106">Operator</a> can easily click on a button in their browser when they are visiting a page containing hCalendar data, and save the event to their Outlook Calendar, the Google Calendar, the Yahoo! Calendar, or elsewhere.</p>
<p>The indirect advantage of the hCalendar formatting is that it normalizes how events data is presented on your site, allowing that data to be easily harvested by humans and bots. People who harvest your events data either want to attend the event themselves, or may be linking to it from other news or events websites — and they typically may link back to your site when they list such content, improving your site&#8217;s PageRank.</p>
<p>Search engines and other events application developers might also prefer this, because it makes a standard for delivering event data - it can make it easier for them to absorb event data across many sites. In of itself, this would never really be used as a ranking signal, though it could allow search engines to easily identify sites which contain events content.</p>
<p>hCalendar Microformat is invisible — it&#8217;s semantic markup behind the scenes of the event information you&#8217;re presenting. If the event has a location, the address can be marked up in hCard Microformat and nested within the hCalendar formatting. If the grouping of the hCalendar info isn&#8217;t to your liking, you can use styles to suppress the display of the data that&#8217;s tagged for Microformat.</p>
<p>A good example of an events site which is using hCalendar in the real world is <a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.zvents.com/">Zvents</a>. On a current event listing for a <a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.zvents.com/fort-worth-tx/events/show/79634462-big-bad-voodoo-daddy">Big Bad Voodoo Daddy concert</a> coming up at the Bass Performance Hall in Fort Worth, you can view the source to see the following markup:</p>
<blockquote><p>   &lt;div class=&#8221;vevent&#8221; style=&#8221;display:none;&#8221;&gt; </p>
<p>    &lt;a class=&#8221;url&#8221; href=&#8221;http://www.zvents.com/fort-worth-tx/events/show/79634462&#8243;&gt;&lt;/a&gt;<br />
    &lt;span class=&#8221;summary&#8221;&gt;Big Bad Voodoo Daddy&lt;/span&gt;<br />
    &lt;abbr class=&#8221;dtstart&#8221; title=&#8221;20080309T200000&#8243; /&gt;<br />
    &lt;abbr class=&#8221;dtend&#8221; title=&#8221;20080309T200000&#8243; /&gt;<br />
    &lt;span class=&#8221;description&#8221;&gt;Musical Performance featuring Big Bad Voodoo Daddy&lt;/span&gt;</p>
<p>    &lt;span class=&#8221;location vcard&#8221; style=&#8221;display:none;&#8221;&gt;<br />
    &lt;a href=&#8221;http://www.zvents.com/fort-worth-tx/venues/show/35132&#8243; class=&#8221;url fn org&#8221; only_path=&#8221;false&#8221;&gt;Bass Performance Hall&lt;/a&gt;<br />
    &lt;span class=&#8221;adr&#8221;&gt;<br />
    &lt;span class=&#8221;locality&#8221;&gt;Fort Worth&lt;/span&gt;<br />
    &lt;span class=&#8221;region&#8221;&gt;TX&lt;/span&gt;</p>
<p>    &lt;span class=&#8221;street-address&#8221;&gt;4th and Calhoun Streets&lt;/span&gt;<br />
    &lt;/span&gt;<br />
    &lt;/span&gt;<br />
    &lt;/div&gt;
</p></blockquote>
<p></p>
<p>As you can see, this entire section is within a DIV that has a STYLE applied of &#8220;display:none;&#8221;, since they apparently desired to have the visual presentation of the event&#8217;s name, description, date, address, and such arranged in different orders and placed around on the page separately from the arrangement of the same info within the hCalendar.</p>
<p>This is not rocket science! It&#8217;s not a hard thing to add to your site&#8217;s HTML coding, so there is very low barrier to entry in adopting this protocol.</p>
<p>As adoption of Microformats increases, it&#8217;s more and more valuable as a strategy for optimization. It improves user experience, increases participation with your site, and potentially can help in promoting your business by enabling easy distribution of your events.</p>
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		<title>Local Search &#038; Blended Results</title>
		<link>http://www.netconcepts.com/2008-02-26/</link>
		<comments>http://www.netconcepts.com/2008-02-26/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 26 Feb 2008 13:49:50 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chris Smith</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[News &amp; Media]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[Seminars]]></category>
<category>local search</category><category>Seminars</category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.netconcepts.com/2008-02-26/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[In this session on local search at the Search Marketing Expo West, you&#8217;ll learn how local listings are being blended into the regular results of major search engines. Experts will also offer their tips to increase the chances that your listings will be among those folded in.
Moderator: Vanessa Fox, Features Editor, Search Engine Land
Q&#038;A Moderator: [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>In this session on local search at the Search Marketing Expo West, you&#8217;ll learn how local listings are being blended into the regular results of major search engines. Experts will also offer their tips to increase the chances that your listings will be among those folded in.</p>
<p>Moderator: Vanessa Fox, Features Editor, Search Engine Land<br />
Q&#038;A Moderator: Matt McGee, SEO Manager, Marchex</p>
<p>Speakers:<br />
Gab Goldenberg, Owner, SEO ROI<br />
Eric Lander, Associate Editor, Search Engine Journal<br />
Chris Smith, Lead Search Strategist, NetConcepts</p>
<p>Q&#038;A Speakers:<br />
Brian Gill, Director of Product Management, Yahoo! Local<br />
Kevin Hagwell, Senior Product Manager, Live Search Maps, Microsoft</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		</item>
		<item>
		<title>How to Get on Google Maps Without an Address</title>
		<link>http://www.netconcepts.com/how-to-get-on-google-maps-without-an-address/</link>
		<comments>http://www.netconcepts.com/how-to-get-on-google-maps-without-an-address/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 11 Feb 2008 18:09:55 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chris Smith</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[Learning Center]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[Ecommerce]]></category>
<category>Articles</category><category>Ecommerce</category><category>local search</category><category>SEO</category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.netconcepts.com/how-to-get-on-google-maps-without-an-address/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[One of the top issues in delivering up local search results in a map-based format is what to do with businesses which have no street address. During the <a rel="nofollow" href="http://searchmarketingexpo.com/local/2007/">SMX Local &#38; Mobile</a> conference back in October, <a rel="nofollow" href="http://ypcommando.com/">Dick Larkin</a> asked Google Earth VP Michael Jones a question about this very thing: &#34;What should we recommend to local businesses which do not have a local street address&#8212;how do they get into Google Maps search results?&#34; Michael's answer was surprising. I'll give you his answer in a moment.]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>One of the top issues in delivering up local search results in a map-based format is what to do with businesses which have no street address. During the <a rel="nofollow" href="http://searchmarketingexpo.com/local/2007/">SMX Local &amp; Mobile</a> conference back in October, <a rel="nofollow" href="http://ypcommando.com/">Dick Larkin</a> asked Google Earth VP Michael Jones a question about this very thing: &quot;What should we recommend to local businesses which do not have a local street address&mdash;how do they get into Google Maps search results?&quot; Michael&#8217;s answer was surprising. I&#8217;ll give you his answer in a moment.</p>
<p>There are a lot of local businesses out there that have no addresses. These are frequently independent contractors like plumbers, electricians, mobile auto repairmen, house painters, roofing contractors, building contractors, and so on. These guys may operate out of their vans and trucks, and are not set up for having the public show up on their doorstep. </p>
<p>A brick-and-mortar location for a business is not just its &quot;home base.&#8221; A store with a sign out front typically serves as a kind of advertisement, too, allowing passers-by to spontaneously decide to drop in, or to file the biz away in their memory for any future needs. The address-less types of businesses don&#8217;t get to benefit from this type of in situ advertising, and so they&#8217;re even more dependent upon other advertising such as newspaper, yellow pages, television, and internet&mdash;as well as word-of-mouth.</p>
<p>So, here you have these traditional service providers flung abruptly into the modern world of rapidly-evolving local search. As printed phone book usage may be decreasing, these guys need internet presence and they know it. The savvier ones also know that people are increasingly searching for businesses via search engines, and particularly in local search engines. </p>
<p>For these guys who need biz directory placement, it really kills them if they can&#8217;t get into a service like Google Maps. </p>
<p>Just to get a feel for the scope of the issue, compare the results in Google Maps for a search for &quot;<a rel="nofollow" href="http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&amp;amp;hl=en&amp;amp;geocode=&amp;amp;q=Plumbers+loc:+Dallas,+TX&amp;amp;ie=UTF8&amp;amp;ll=32.789006,-96.81221&amp;amp;spn=0.358466,0.481339&amp;amp;z=11&amp;amp;om=0">Plumbers in Dallas, TX</a>&quot;:</p>
<p align="center"><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/2248371022/" title="Chicago Plumbers in Google Maps by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2363/2248371022_ec3f7b8eb3.jpg" width="500" height="337" alt="Chicago Plumbers in Google Maps" border="0" /></a></p>
<p>If you scroll through the listings, you&#8217;ll notice that only businesses with actual street addresses are listed in the first page of results.</p>
<p>By contrast, in yellow pages sites like <a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.superpages.com/yellowpages/C-Plumbers/S-TX/T-Dallas/">Superpages.com</a>, <a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.yellowpages.com/Dallas-TX/Plumbing-Contractors?search_mode=all&amp;search_terms=plumbers">Yellowpages.com</a>, and <a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.yellowbook.com/search/?what=Plumbers&amp;who=&amp;where=Dallas,+Tx">Yellowbook.com</a>, as well as in some of the other local search sites like <a rel="nofollow" href="http://maps.yahoo.com/#mvt=m&amp;lat=32.778155&amp;lon=-96.795404&amp;mag=6&amp;tt=plumbers&amp;tp=1&amp;q1=Dallas,%20Tx">Yahoo! Local</a> and <a rel="nofollow" href="http://maps.live.com/default.aspx?v=2&amp;cp=32.778173%7E-96.795583&amp;style=r&amp;lvl=13&amp;tilt=-90&amp;dir=0&amp;alt=-1000&amp;ss=yp.Plumbers%7Epg.1%7Esst.0&amp;encType=1">Live Search Maps</a>, quite a number of plumbers who don&#8217;t have physical addresses displayed are also included in the results.</p>
<p>With <a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.smallbusinesssem.com/charting-the-undeniable-growth-of-google-maps/1046/">Google&#8217;s local search popularity on the rise</a>, these small businesses are getting more and more driven to get into the listings.</p>
<p>So, what was Michael Jones&#8217;s answer to Dick&#8217;s question&mdash;how are businesses with no addresses supposed to get into Google Maps results? </p>
<p>He essentially said that they should try to get an address in the city because Google did not display businesses that didn&#8217;t have addresses&mdash;after all, he quipped, one can&#8217;t pinpoint something without an address on the map. He suggested that those businesses could rent a post box to accomplish this.</p>
<p>I found this suggestion surprising and a bit disappointing. I&#8217;d rather expected him to declare that they expected to soon deploy a new version that would allow some method of displaying local businesses that didn&#8217;t have specific addresses.</p>
<p>I&#8217;d actually recommended that businesses might use rented mail boxes to get better Maps rankings as a sort of &quot;extreme local search tactic&quot; <a href="http://www.naturalsearchblog.com/archives/2007/01/11/extreme-local-search-optimization-tactics/">way back</a> in January of 2007, but I did that while figuring that few businesses were likely to actually do that. The tactic is apparently not so &quot;extreme&quot; after all. Google Maps help provides <a rel="nofollow" href="http://maps.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=16134&amp;amp;topic=13421">similar advice</a>.</p>
<p>Hearing this method recommended by Google was surprising to many of us, because it seems like something of a <a rel="nofollow" href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hack_(technology)">hack</a>&mdash;it <b>is</b> a hack. The expected/needed functionality isn&#8217;t there, so you have to resort to doing something nonintuitive/unnatural to make it work. </p>
<p>There are rare cases where Google Maps <a rel="nofollow" href="http://maps.google.com/maps?ie=UTF8&amp;q=%22computer+help%22&amp;near=Boulder,+CO&amp;fb=1&amp;cid=40051216,-105391410,9736391028131742359&amp;li=lmd&amp;ll=40.052388,-105.392017&amp;spn=0.02674,0.051584&amp;z=14&amp;om=0">does</a> display a business without an address: </p>
<p align="center"><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/2248310700/" title="Addressless Business Listing by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2361/2248310700_649458a802.jpg" width="500" height="329" border="0" alt="Addressless Business Listing" /></a></p>
<p>Maps personnel <a rel="nofollow" href="http://groups.google.com/group/Google-Maps-For-Business-Owners/browse_thread/thread/5b04a71b86b0a09d/c4a01075ffd0875b?hl=en#c4a01075ffd0875b">suggest</a> this may have happened due to &quot;incomplete&quot; data from yellow pages providers. The data may be incomplete from Google&#8217;s perspective, but YP sites allow display without an address, as mentioned above. </p>
<p>This is not the only case where businesses might have to go through Google&#8217;s yellow pages partners to achieve presentation treatment they&#8217;ve grown to expect as a standard directory feature. Mike Blumenthal has <a rel="nofollow" href="http://blumenthals.com/blog/2008/02/04/google-maps-category-mystery-part-2-backgound/">outlined</a> how Google&#8217;s sharply limited number of business categories has also caused some heartburn, and those wishing for a more granular category designation would likely also have to achieve it through their listings at a yellow pages site.</p>
<p>Google&#8217;s desire to use mailing addresses to verify businesses seems reasonable, but it shouldn&#8217;t be necessary to actually display the address. It&#8217;s also reasonable to say that a graphic map interface perhaps shouldn&#8217;t be pinpointing items without specific addresses&mdash;in the screen grab above, the address is defaulting to a city or ZIP code centroid, making the business location appear to be floating out in an area without roads. This aspect is a bit of a downer from a user-experience perspective.</p>
<p>Google Maps isn&#8217;t purely just the graphic map, though. The listings at the side of the map and the listings appearing in regular keyword search results for local queries provide a more traditional directory format. It could be possible to display the addressless businesses in these listings without pinpointing them on the map.</p>
<p>While Google&#8217;s decisions around this are founded on their usual, laudable pro-user-experience bias, this situation isn&#8217;t at all desirable from the user&#8217;s perspective, either. Most small, established businesses have expectation of being represented in directories and don&#8217;t know that they need to rent a post-box to appear here. So, these logic rules are reducing the degree of choice available among providers and reducing competition. Google factors ratings into their rankings, too, and one may assume that some of the best businesses in a local area may not be appearing in Google Maps search results.</p>
<p>If you are one of the small businesses who desires presence in Google Maps without listing your actual street address, I&#8217;d recommend that you get your mailbox service at a UPS Store, since it will allow you to use a full street address instead of just a PO box.</p>
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		<title>20 Awesome Images Found in Google Maps</title>
		<link>http://www.netconcepts.com/20-awesome-images-found-in-google-maps/</link>
		<comments>http://www.netconcepts.com/20-awesome-images-found-in-google-maps/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 14 Jan 2008 21:53:23 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chris Smith</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[News &amp; Media]]></category>
<category>local search</category><category>SEO</category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.netconcepts.com/20-awesome-images-found-in-google-maps/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[The introduction of satellite images into map search interfaces has excited both virtual sightseers and local app developers. Further innovations like Google&#8217;s Street View have caused consternation from privacy advocates while further pumping up the buzz about online mapping. In 2008, we can expect further innovations that stretch the envelope while dynamic map interfaces solidify [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The introduction of satellite images into map search interfaces has excited both virtual sightseers and local app developers. Further innovations like Google&#8217;s <a href="http://searchengineland.com/070529-114503.php">Street View</a> have caused <a href="http://searchengineland.com/070531-101242.php">consternation from privacy advocates</a> while further pumping up the buzz about online mapping. In 2008, we can expect further innovations that stretch the envelope while dynamic map interfaces solidify as basic table-stakes for all local sites. In gearing up for this year in local search, I thought I&#8217;d give you a pure entertainment piece&mdash;here&#8217;s a guide to the top coolest things to see in Google Maps.</p>
<p>Yum! Brands, Inc.&#8217;s subsidiary, KFC, built this brilliant ad back in 2006, geared to be viewable by space aliens. It was purposefully built just off Extraterrestrial Highway, near Area 51:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/2181565328/" title="KFC space logo by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2137/2181565328_b69e43e153.jpg" width="500" height="446" alt="KFC space logo" border="0" /></a></p>
<p>I pointed out the swastika-shaped building below back in 2006, along with a few other map enthusiasts. In September of 2007, the U.S. Navy bowed to pressure from radio commentators and the Anti-Defamation League and agreed to change the building&#8217;s profile at a cost of $600k. In the media feeding-frenzy, I got accused of &quot;costing the taxpayers $600k&quot; on a few blogs and forums, and one or two flamewars broke out in the comments on my Flickr page.</p>
<p><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/143053448/" title="Google Map of Swastika-Shaped Building by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm1.static.flickr.com/47/143053448_01c0320dcd.jpg" width="500" height="344" alt="Google Map of Swastika-Shaped Building" border="0" /></a></p>
<p>Giant thumbprint in a park in Great Britain. This thumbprint is actually a large maze designed by <a href="http://www.chrisdrury.co.uk/commis/fingermaze2.html">Chris Drury</a>.</p>
<p><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/2180208133/" title="Huge Fingerprint in Google Maps by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2242/2180208133_9a18261018.jpg" width="500" height="395" alt="Huge Fingerprint in Google Maps" border="0" /></a></p>
<p>Evidence of drunken parking? This building in the Netherlands sports a Morris Mini parked on its side. The lights on the car turn on at night.</p>
<p><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/2180319427/" title="Drunken Parking, Netherlands by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2279/2180319427_b6c6764402.jpg" width="500" height="426" alt="Drunken Parking, Netherlands" border="0" /></a></p>
<p>Yet more Minis parked on a building&mdash;this time the Minis are parked on top of a pub in Great Britain.</p>
<p><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/2181834152/" title="Minis on Pub Roof by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2226/2181834152_89c21fc492.jpg" width="500" height="383" alt="Minis on Pub Roof" border="0" /></a></p>
<p>When all the satellite pics are stitched together to allow users to pan continuously in mapping programs, there are frequently some funky effects which can happen at transition edges. One common phenomenon is when two pics taken at different angles are spliced together, causing tall buildings and other structures to appear to be leaning sharply. This is called the &quot;Escher Effect,&quot; and this sample comes from downtown Dallas:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/128135495/" title="Google Maps Oddity by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm1.static.flickr.com/52/128135495_4ba2c16e64.jpg" width="500" height="394" alt="Google Maps Oddity" border="0" /></a></p>
<p>This is purportedly the largest Coca-Cola logo in the world, created near Arica, Chile, out of something like 70,000 coke bottles to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the company:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/2180367311/" title="Coca Cola Logo in Google Maps by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2157/2180367311_9bff17df0a.jpg" width="500" height="413" alt="Coca Cola Logo in Google Maps" border="0" /></a></p>
<p>Back in January of 2007, Google publicly announced they were planning to send a plane over locations in Australia to update Google Maps images. Quite a few people attempted to communicate messages by displaying large text on the ground for the &quot;Australia Day Flyover&quot; as it was called, but very few actually accomplished it due to a miscommunication over the date of the flight. However, the Tourism Australia ministry managed it by paying a sand sculptor to form the letters of their domain name on Bondi Beach near Sydney:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/532160918/" title="Australia.com in Google Maps by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1310/532160918_edadd8dcb1.jpg" width="500" height="406" alt="Australia.com in Google Maps" border="0" /></a></p>
<p>&#8220;Giant pink bunny,&#8221; killed in a drive-by in Italy.</p>
<p><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/2181081100/" title="Bunny in Google Maps by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2310/2181081100_cd0b3d2463.jpg" width="500" height="419" alt="Bunny in Google Maps" border="0" /></a></p>
<p>People are increasingly trying to get their messages seen in Google Maps satellite view, but most aerial messages already appearing in the pics were originally intended for people viewing from airplanes. For instance, this message written in a field adjacent to Offutt Air Force Base in Nebraska:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/2181179843/" title="Sky Message by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2057/2181179843_20c330fbd9.jpg" width="500" height="467" alt="Sky Message" border="0" /></a></p>
<p>Some of the best-documented messages found in Google Maps have been marriage proposals like this one:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/532160908/" title="Will U Marry Me by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1265/532160908_eacf0de881.jpg" width="500" height="428" alt="Will U Marry Me" border="0" /></a></p>
<p>Another patriotic-themed image is this American flag found on a river bank in Pennsylvania:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/2181806190/" title="American Flag in Google Maps by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2032/2181806190_a6fa5dd78d.jpg" width="500" height="464" alt="American Flag in Google Maps" border="0" /></a></p>
<p>Street View has raised all sorts of privacy concerns and people have taken great glee at pointing out people captured going into strip clubs, peeing in public, or doing various private activities. In this example, one of the traditionally photo-shy superheroes, the Green Lantern, is the one caught by the roving camera eye, looking out a shop window in Boston:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/2181817133/" title="Green Hornet nabbed in Street View by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2233/2181817133_43453e60d8.jpg" width="500" height="415" alt="Green Hornet nabbed in Street View" border="0" /></a></p>
<p>There are quite a few pictorial mazes that show up in Google Maps, particularly corn mazes and such in the US. This UK maze was built to celebrate the 200th birthday of Brunel, a famous British engineer:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/2181861990/" title="Brunel 200th Birthday Maze by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2226/2181861990_4a9ff7934f.jpg" width="500" height="500" alt="Brunel 200th Birthday Maze" border="0" /></a></p>
<p>There&#8217;s a whole subgenre of art called &quot;Crop Art&quot; that&#8217;s rendered in growing plants in patterns to form pictures when viewed from above. This example is a rendering of Da Vinci&#8217;s famous Vitruvian Man, located in Italy:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/2181991014/" title="The Vitruvian Man by Da Vinci by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2273/2181991014_65dc72f1e5.jpg" width="500" height="380" alt="The Vitruvian Man by Da Vinci" border="0" /></a></p>
<p>Similar to Crop Art, &quot;Earth Art&quot; or &quot;Land Art&quot; is created by moving or scraping soil and rocks to create images. This huge image from a hillside in Mongolia celebrates Ghenghis Khan:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/2181941160/" title="Portrait of Ghenghis Khan in Google Maps by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2039/2181941160_a0834a3c37.jpg" width="500" height="430" alt="Portrait of Ghenghis Khan in Google Maps" border="0" /></a></p>
<p>When the early Greek inventor Daedalus&#8217;s son, Icarus, plummeted from the sky after his wax-and-feathers wings experiment failed, his body&#8217;s impact left this deep indentation crater which subsequently filled with water, leaving this man-shaped lake in Brazil:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/2180282889/" title="Man-Shaped Lake in Brazil by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2292/2180282889_990d3abae7.jpg" width="500" height="439" alt="Man-Shaped Lake in Brazil" border="0" /></a></p>
<p>A man with the surname of &quot;Luecke&quot; in Texas decided to write his name big by leaving these trees when he was clear-cutting the land. According to reports, astronauts are able to see these letters from space:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/2181776664/" title="Luecke Trees in Texas by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2412/2181776664_3e9d134b32.jpg" width="500" height="476" alt="Luecke Trees in Texas" border="0" /></a></p>
<p>Quite a few companies promote themselves by painting their logos onto their building rooftops. This example is particularly clever, since the Salvation Army apparently realized they could leverage their building&#8217;s close proximity to the Seattle Seahawks Stadium and they&#8217;ll forever after enjoy free promotion whenever news organizations fly over when covering sporting events.</p>
<p><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/1269191882/" title="The Salvation Army rooftop ad, Seattle by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1001/1269191882_d132804e2c.jpg" width="500" height="321" alt="The Salvation Army rooftop ad, Seattle" border="0" /></a></p>
<p>One thing that some people spend a whole lot of time doing is looking for UFOs and Crop Circles. Here&#8217;s a really great crop circle of the Mozilla Firefox logo - a brilliant piece of promotion and linkbait if there ever was one:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/silvery/1271220524/" title="Firefox Logo by Si1very, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1133/1271220524_efa04f0d97.jpg" width="500" height="406" alt="Firefox Logo" border="0" /></a></p>
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		<title>Anatomy &#38; Optimization of a Local Business Profile</title>
		<link>http://www.netconcepts.com/anatomy-optimization-of-a-local-business-profile/</link>
		<comments>http://www.netconcepts.com/anatomy-optimization-of-a-local-business-profile/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 12 Dec 2007 20:48:56 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chris Smith</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[News &amp; Media]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[Ecommerce]]></category>
<category>Articles</category><category>Ecommerce</category><category>local search</category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.netconcepts.com/anatomy-optimization-of-a-local-business-profile/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Many local companies depend upon their information's presence in various directories in order to advertise themselves, and the basic instrument of these marketing efforts is the Business Profile. The majority of businesses out there pay little attention to these beyond wanting their name, address, and phone numbers to be correct. However, there are far more components of business profiles beyond the bare basics, and this article will outline many of them and how they should be handled for best effect. Optimizing business listings and profiles can make all the difference in enabling potential customers to find you and in selecting you from your pack of competitors. ]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Many local companies depend upon their information&#8217;s presence in various directories in order to advertise themselves, and the basic instrument of these marketing efforts is the Business Profile. The majority of businesses out there pay little attention to these beyond wanting their name, address, and phone numbers to be correct. However, there are far more components of business profiles beyond the bare basics, and this article will outline many of them and how they should be handled for best effect. Optimizing business listings and profiles can make all the difference in enabling potential customers to find you and in selecting you from your pack of competitors. </p>
<p>Most listings in yellow pages and local search engines may be comprised of just a basic name, address, and phone number. But businesses should take the trouble to add in as much of the other elements as they can since all the information provides differentiation and helpful information for consumers. In many local search and directory sites, most of the enhancement data can be added in for free, yet millions of businesses have never taken advantage of the full scope of free advertising available to them.</p>
<p>Here&#8217;s an annotated guide to a comprehensive business profile for local listings in the U.S.:</p>
<p><b>Business name.</b> While this element may seem straightforward, it&#8217;s possible for you to adjust your company name or name usage convention in such a way as to derive more natural referral traffic online. While it&#8217;s easiest to trademark a unique/esoteric name, if it&#8217;s not combined with keyword terms that are most apropos to your business, you could miss out on some referrals over time. And, for a good many directories there is still alphabetic ordering going on, which can keep you ranking lower than if you could adjust your name to begin with earlier letters in the alphabet. &#8220;Xetera&#8221; might be distinctive as a gift shop name, but you might think of changing it to &#8220;And Xetera, Gifts&#8221; so that it might include your main keyword and rank high in alpha sorting.</p>
<p><b>Street address.</b> A business&#8217;s street address is one of the most important parameters for appearing in local search results and enabling consumers to locate their stores, but many businesses seem to be careless in correcting or adjusting them to function well online. There&#8217;s lots of variation that can happen in how addresses are written, and the top online mapping systems don&#8217;t universally recognize the variations and pinpoint them identically. I see many business addresses like &#8220;80 US 40&#8243; or something similarly user-unfriendly, which could potentially be interpreted a few ways, since roads might be cited in a few different formats: Rd, Road, Highway, Hwy, US, Interstate, F&#038;M, Farm &#038; Market Road, FM, H, I, etc.</p>
<p>In some areas, roads can be cited in multiple ways. Here in Dallas, Interstate Highway 35 is a major artery, but sections of it have been called different names, like: &#8220;North Stemmons Freeway,&#8221; &#8220;R.L Thornton Freeway,&#8221; I-35, I-35 North, and I-35 South. </p>
<p>Particularly sensitive are streets which have both a North &#038; South or East and West version&mdash;there are cases where address on such streets can be incorrectly interpreted by search engines and mapping systems, resulting in bad maps/directions. For instance, &#8220;330 East Corporate Drive, Lewisville, TX&#8221; may not be interpreted the same as &#8220;330 Corporate Drive East, Lewisville, TX.&#8221; Human users and postmen may interpret both correctly, but one variation may not work as well in online mapping and search. I won&#8217;t regale you with the story of when I made up erroneous maps to my brother&#8217;s wedding rehearsal dinner due to this common issue!</p>
<p>While a human user might see and interpret your address correctly, you should check to see if major online mapping systems like Mapquest, Google Maps, Yahoo Maps, and MSN Maps can pinpoint correctly as well. Mild correction or adjustment to how you write your address in each directory may ensure that maps and driving directions work.</p>
<p>Newer streets and addresses often causes businesses heartburn, as there is typically a one to two year time lag in getting the new streets to appear in online mapping systems. Nagging each of the top online map providers may help you get this fixed sooner in online maps.</p>
<p>Some local businesses simply do not have a fixed location and may operate out of their truck or something, such as in the cases of plumbers and contractors. In internet directories, local search engines, and online map sites, not having an address can be a big disadvantage. Local search engines often rank listings in order of proximity to a city center and only display businesses they can display on maps, and businesses with no address or post office box addresses end up being left out of results entirely. </p>
<p>If your business doesn&#8217;t have a street address, I recommend that you rent a mailbox from a mail store or a UPS Store, and consider choosing a store that&#8217;s close to the center of most of the online mapping services. Renting a box can give you a street address and will make you start appearing in many more online searches, nearly overnight!</p>
<p><b>Geocode.</b> These are the hidden, numerical coordinate values which are frequently associated with address data in business directories. When directories, search engines, or mapping systems receive a new street address, they geocode the addresses, assigning the numerical longitude and latitude values to pinpoint the location. You don&#8217;t need to worry about these unless your address is persistently pinpointed incorrectly in various systems. If it is, you might want to research out the best geocode for your business location, and then supply it directly to the directories which are not displaying the location pinpoint properly. </p>
<p>Sometimes addresses which can&#8217;t be properly geocoded get defaulted to pinpoint to a city or zip code centroid, and there can be differences in geocodes which pinpoint to a spot in the middle of a street versus a rooftop accuracy pinpoint.</p>
<p>Some services may allow business owners to drag and drop map pinpoints to update geocodes behind the scenes.</p>
<p><b>Maps.</b> Maps are an element cropping up alongside business listings, or listing pages often include maps pinpointing the listing locations. The address and geocode elements mentioned above most directly affect map accuracy. In some cases, maps and map features of an area don&#8217;t reflect a precise, one-to-one relationship with reality, so even correct geocodes can pinpoint less than optimally in some systems.</p>
<p><b>City &#038; state.</b> Name of the city and state where your business is located. Be sure to use standard nomenclature with the city name, as opposed to colloquial nicknames (e.g., &#8220;New York,&#8221; not &#8220;NYC&#8221; nor &#8220;The Big Apple&#8221;).</p>
<p><b>ZIP code.</b> Postal code for the address &mdash; some have asked me before whether it helps to include the ZIP+4. ZIP code is necessary, but I suggest against adding the plus-four extension. I don&#8217;t believe it helps for precise pinpointing in local search and online maps, and it&#8217;s primarily for post office routing.</p>
<p><b>Main telephone number.</b> The phone number is often the gateway between a consumer and your business, so these naturally must be correct. One big mistake that some make is the insistence upon having directories display their vanity numbers&mdash;instead of just displaying the area code, prefix, and suffix, they may want their vanity numbers (alphabetic letters which represent each number key on a phone pad) to be displayed. Vanity numbers have been used by businesses in many forms of advertising because they were considered to provide a mnemonic aid to remembering the phone number, and because they may improve brand awareness or conversions.</p>
<p>I believe most directories may not allow vanity numbers to be entered for businesses, and there may be compelling reasons not to use them in online. The classic letter keypads are not available on many mobile phones, and the letters may not work in a number of VoIP services.</p>
<p><b>Secondary telephone(s).</b> Secondary phone lines really help if you have too many calls to route through a single number/line. Using a secondary phone number in listings where it&#8217;s allowed might be a good place to park the vanity version of your main phone number, if you have one and really want to use it. Otherwise, I suggest that you not alternate which number is your primary vs. secondary number in the various directories out there&mdash;keep the main number consistent so that aggregators and directories can easily keep the various data provider listings for you compiled into one main listing.</p>
<p><b>Fax number.</b> Perhaps a feature growing less popular/necessary as internet communications continue to grow, but still useful in some particular business verticals.</p>
<p><b>Meta descriptions / Directory listing descriptions / Ad description text / Taglines.</b> I&#8217;m grouping a number of these together because they&#8217;re quite similar&mdash;many online directories like DMOZ have only a link to your business site along with a brief text description. In all these cases, it&#8217;s important for you to be concise and accurate in describing what&#8217;s unique about your business and include one/two main keywords that consumers would be using to find you.</p>
<p><b>Categories.</b> In many directories, millions of businesses have been automatically assigned to a category. Businesses should check to be sure they&#8217;re in the correct categories for their industry, and add on multiple other categories which are appropriate. This ensures that the listing will come up for business type searches as much as possible.</p>
<p><b>Keywords.</b> Some services now allow one to associate keywords onto the profile. The way to make this work for you is to figure out what words users are using to type into yellow pages or search engines in order to find the type of business that you operate. For instance, if you are listed under an &#8220;attorneys&#8221; category, you might want to add a keyword for &#8220;lawyers.&#8221;</p>
<p><b>Services, products, &#038; brands.</b> For a service oriented business, listing out the specific services that are provided is a must. What are the top few services you offer? Don&#8217;t assume that just because you&#8217;re categorized in a particular industry, you don&#8217;t need to mention the obvious. For instance, a photographer listed under &#8220;Wedding Photographers&#8221; should state under Services that they &#8220;Provide wedding photos, formal bridal portraits, candid shots of wedding parties and rehearsals.&#8221; Listing Products &#038; Brands with a business can also help it to come up as more relevant for users&#8217; specific searches.</p>
<p><b>Specialties &#038; amenities.</b> The specialties &#038; amenities are really important to provide attributes that can differentiate between you and your competitors. Specialties for a lawyer may bring in more clients who have cases for which they&#8217;re particularly skilled. Amenities in hotel listings like pools, exercise rooms, free breakfasts, and others can draw in more business than nearly anything and are vital details. </p>
<p><b>Photos.</b> For accommodations or specialty products businesses, including clear, large enough photos really help consumers in choosing.</p>
<p><b>Website URL.</b> URLs, of cours, are the vanity phone numbers of the internet space, and the obvious conventional wisdom is that they should be short, descriptive, easy to spell, and contain good keywords. When listing your URL in directories, I suggest that you leave the &#8220;WWW&#8221; off as long as you&#8217;ve made sure the WWW and non-WWW versions of your domain name are functional. Leaving the WWW off the URL makes it shorter and makes the keywords or brand name stand out better. (See also the <a href="http://no-www.org/">No-WWW Initiative</a>.)</p>
<p>If you have a URL that you think may not be optimal, did you know that you could register a new one that works better and just aim it at your existing site? If you do that, you&#8217;ll want to make one use a 301 redirect to the other so that search engines only index your pages on one main domain name.</p>
<p><b>Email address.</b> Including an email address with a business listing can be as useful as a phone number, but there are caveats with it. There are apparently quite a lot of businesses which do not keep up with their email in a professional manner, and in these cases, having an email address can actually reduce referrals which might&#8217;ve otherwise come in via phone calls. If you list an email address, have it checked at least once per business day and respond to inquiries. If you can&#8217;t commit to checking it, just don&#8217;t display one.</p>
<p><b>Payment options.</b> Showing payment options helps unless you&#8217;re extremely restrictive about payment types&mdash;in which case, it can cause consumers to avoid the business.</p>
<p><b>Hours of operation.</b> Listing times is quite helpful to everyone who works 8 to 5, but hours of operation should be considered a commitment or a contract which you won&#8217;t ever break except on major holidays. There is nothing more irritating than showing up for a business only to find that they&#8217;ve closed early or they&#8217;re only randomly open.</p>
<p><b>Logos and icons.</b> Logos or listing icons can be eye-candy for a listings page, and they can attract attention and make a listing seem more professional. Avoid low-quality graphics and vague/weak promotional messages.</p>
<p><b>Areas served.</b> You&#8217;ve already listed your city, so this parameter is where you list alternative or regional names and neighborhoods. &#8220;Upper West Side,&#8221; &#8220;Nob Hill Neighborhood,&#8221; and &#8220;Serving the Mid-Cities&#8221; are some examples.</p>
<p><b>Year founded &#038; years in business.</b> If your business has been running for two or more years, adding this can enhance consumer trust.</p>
<p><b>Associations&mdash;Minority owned / Chamber member / Religion / Environmental / Professional associations.</b> In most cases, I&#8217;d say that listing out various associations typically helps gain new customers and rarely turns them off.</p>
<p><b>Certifications.</b> Few consumers may know what&#8217;s involved in obtaining various certifications, but listing out the ones you have is an indicator of your professionalism and expertise.</p>
<p><b>Languages.</b> Listing out languages you can support is a no-brainer for getting some particular clientele who need alternate language support. </p>
<p><b>Professional endorsements &#038; ratings.</b> Few directories provide any option for listing endorsements, but for the ones which do, displaying quotes from major news media, well-known experts, and other recognizable companies can be effective. Quoting positive professional ratings you may have can help convince consumers of your worth and add the perception that your superlatives are not just hollow claims.</p>
<p><b>User ratings &#038; reviews.</b> While user ratings and reviews may get applied to your profile, you can still influence them to some degree. Rating values have become one of the most important factors for achieving rankings in various local search engines, so you shouldn&#8217;t ignore them. Ask your particularly pleased customers to rate your business online in each of the major directories and local search engines. Some rating services allow you to respond to specific complaints or negative statements&mdash;do so. If you suspect that a competitor has falsely stacked the deck against you, complain to the company hosting the reviews and request that they look into it. Also, take a very hard look at your own shop and see if there are areas where you need to improve customer service&mdash;take criticism from customers seriously and look upon it as an opportunity to learn and improve. A few negative ratings or reviews can eventually become buried by consistently applying fantastic service. Do not try to fraudulently influence ratings by having you or your employees submit reviews, or you could get found out.</p>
<p><b>Prices.</b> Prices can either be externally applied in a fashion similar to ratings, or some business categories may allow you to enter typical pricing information for your services. Restaurant profiles and other category templates may allow pricing info to be shown as a single value, a range from low to high prices, or as a symbol like one-to-multiple dollar signs. Make sure your prices accurately reflect the typical costs of what most users pay for your services. If a price parameter is allowed for your profile, you should assess whether it is expected or vital to your type of business. I&#8217;ve been very frustrated a number of times when viewing Restaurant websites, only to discover online menus with no prices. In a Restaurants category where many of the top listings may have the Prices element present, failure to display the parameter with your listing could result in far fewer customers as people can become disgusted or distrustful at the lack of info.</p>
<p>Following these tips, you should update and expand the data in your business profiles in all the major yellow pages, directories, and local search engines in order to maximize your online presence. Take advantage of the free advertising through all the business profile directories out there, and you&#8217;ll start pulling your business ahead of the pack.</p>
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		<item>
		<title>Interactive Marketing: Reaching Customers</title>
		<link>http://www.netconcepts.com/2007-11-13/</link>
		<comments>http://www.netconcepts.com/2007-11-13/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 19 Oct 2007 18:35:00 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Stephan Spencer</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[Seminars]]></category>
<category>Blogs</category><category>Buzz Marketing</category><category>online marketing</category><category>Seminars</category><category>SEO</category><category>Web Analytics</category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.netconcepts.com/2007-11-13/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[ Search engine marketing

Making your site &#8220;search engine friendly&#8221;
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Trends in contextual, behavioral and local advertising

Creating a buzz — viral marketing

Blogs, RSS feeds, forums, wikis and more
Harness &#8220;word of mouse&#8221; to enhance your brand 
Identifying the &#8220;sneezers&#8221; who will spread your viral message

Web analytics
Speakers:
Stephan Spencer, Founder and President, [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p> <b>Search engine marketing</b></p>
<ul>
<li>Making your site &#8220;search engine friendly&#8221;</li>
<li>&#8220;Pay-per-click&#8221; search advertising</li>
<li>Benchmarking, competitive intelligence and ROI analysis </li>
<li>Trends in contextual, behavioral and local advertising</li>
</ul>
<p><b>Creating a buzz — viral marketing</b></p>
<ul>
<li>Blogs, RSS feeds, forums, wikis and more</li>
<li>Harness &#8220;word of mouse&#8221; to enhance your brand </li>
<li>Identifying the &#8220;sneezers&#8221; who will spread your viral message</li>
</ul>
<p><b>Web analytics</b></p>
<p>Speakers:<br />
Stephan Spencer, Founder and President, Netconcepts</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.netconcepts.com/2007-11-13/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
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		<title>Google Trends: Yellow Pages Will be Toast in Four Years</title>
		<link>http://www.netconcepts.com/google-trends-yellow-pages-will-be-toast-in-four-years/</link>
		<comments>http://www.netconcepts.com/google-trends-yellow-pages-will-be-toast-in-four-years/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 24 Sep 2007 15:40:11 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chris Smith</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[News &amp; Media]]></category>
<category>Articles</category><category>local search</category><category>online marketing</category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.netconcepts.com/google-trends-yellow-pages-will-be-toast-in-four-years/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA["Local marketing industry savants have long been predicting the demise of print Yellow Pages books, going the way of the buggy whip due to overwhelming competition from Internet alternatives," writes Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist for GravityStream at Netconcepts. In this article, Chris writes about what kind of an impact of local "internet" space has on both printed and online Yellow Pages directories.]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Local marketing industry savants have long been predicting the demise of print Yellow Pages books, going the way of the buggy whip due to overwhelming competition from Internet alternatives. Further, the aggressive invasion of search engines into the local space during the past few years has inspired some analysts to wonder if Internet Yellow Pages directories might also be headed for extinction along with the printed books. Readily available stats from Google show trends and provide a good sense of what&#8217;s actually going on across the local space on the Internet. Ironically, we can also use these stats to predict the demise of traditional Yellow Pages sites.</p>
<p>I did a search via Google Trends to compare the magnitude of searches for &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; and &#8220;white pages,&#8221; and here&#8217;s the chart of these searches from 2004 to present:</p>
<p align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1390/1429163163_6279f69090.jpg" width="500" height="309" alt="Yellow Pages &amp; White Pages Searches in Google" /><br />(Trends in searches for &#8220;<a href="http://www.google.com/trends?q=white+pages,yellow+pages&#038;ctab=0&#038;geo=US&#038;geor=all&#038;date=all&#038;sort=0">White Pages&#8221; &amp; &#8220;Yellow pages</a>&#8220;)</p>
<p>Notice that keyword searches for &#8220;white pages&#8221; seems notably consistent year over year, while searches for &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; seem to be declining. There are a couple of ways we could interpret the dropping trend for YP searches. On one hand, we could assume that people aren&#8217;t looking for Yellow Pages sites as much because they&#8217;re able to find businesses through other types of sites and directly through the search engines themselves. An alternate interpretation could be that users might be going to the Yellow Pages sites directly, through typing in the URLs or bookmarking them. Are people searching in Google for &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; less because the IYP (Internet Yellow Pages) companies are making progress in improving their brand recognition?</p>
<p>Let&#8217;s compare to see whether users are searching more/less for specific IYP brand names:</p>
<p align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1099/1429194085_a9f497fd30.jpg" width="500" height="316" alt="IYPs" /><br /> (Comparing searches for <a href="http://www.google.com/trends?q=Yellowpages.com,Yellow+Book,Yelp,Superpages,Dex+Online&#038;ctab=0&#038;geo=US&#038;date=all&#038;sort=0">Yellowpages.com, Yellow Book, Yelp, Superpages, and Dex Online</a>.)</p>
<p>Quite a few of those online Yellow Pages sites are showing gains over the same period. &#8220;Superpages&#8221; searches are relatively flat, while searches for &#8220;YellowPages.com,&#8221; &#8220;Yellow Book,&#8221; &#8220;Yelp,&#8221; and &#8220;Dex Online&#8221; all show increasing trends. So, could we deduce that this rising brand-name recognition among most of the IYPs has caused fewer people to need to research &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; sites? I don&#8217;t believe so, at least based on keyword searches in Google. Far more users appear to be seeking &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; than are searching for particular IYP brand sites:</p>
<p align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1261/1429230211_c1330c63a1.jpg" width="500" height="304" alt="Yellow Pages vs IYP Brand Searches" /><br /> (Comparing searches for &#8220;<a href="http://www.google.com/trends?q=yellowpages.com,yellow+book,yelp,superpages,yellow+pages&amp;ctab=0&amp;geo=US&amp;geor=all&amp;date=all&amp;sort=0">Yellow Pages&#8221; vs. IYP brands</a>)</p>
<p>At the very least it would appear that the increases in IYP brand-specific searches do not balance out the dropping trend in searches for &#8220;yellow pages&#8221;&mdash;the magnitude in searches for &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; far outpaces combined brand searches for IYPs.</p>
<p>Searches by types of local businesses or organizations seem highly consistent and stable in Google, year over year:</p>
<p align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1365/1429346591_e032bd76f0.jpg" width="500" height="296" alt="Google Searches for Common Local Organizations" /><br /> (Google searches for popular types of <a href="http://www.google.com/trends?q=restaurants%2Chotels%2Cdoctors%2Cflorists%2Cchurch&#038;ctab=0&#038;geo=US&#038;geor=all&#038;date=all&#038;sort=0">local business/organization listings</a>)</p>
<p>Now, I realize it&#8217;s dangerous to base assumptions off such a limited fraction of total Internet statistics, and I&#8217;m making multiple suppositions here. Google Trends only shows relative amounts of total numbers of searches by keyword sequences, so the stats don&#8217;t necessarily have a direct correlation to total traffic. There are so many variables involved that there could be multiple, combined causes for what we&#8217;re seeing here. These trends could be specific to only Google users and not to everyone. And, actual usage of IYP sites may not be reflected by keyword searches for &#8220;yellow pages.&#8221; Yet, Google usage comprises such a large percentage of total online searches, and user search behavior there does often seem to reflect the contemporary zeitgeist. So, I think we could make some valid and intelligent assumptions based on these graphs.</p>
<p>It&#8217;s my opinion that Google&#8217;s (and the other top search engines) innovations in local search combined with increasing inclusion of business listing data in the search engine results pages (&#8221;SERPs&#8221;) is causing users&#8217; behavior to change. Users are finding more and more of the information they&#8217;re seeking directly in SERPs, negating the need to find Internet Yellow Pages. Google Trends shows that users are increasingly seeking &#8220;Google Maps&#8221; just as they&#8217;re searching for &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; less:</p>
<p align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1439/1430349272_ea7fe1be54.jpg" width="500" height="299" alt="Google Maps searches vs. Yellow Pages" /><br /> (Comparing searches for <a href="http://www.google.com/trends?q=Google+Maps%2Cyellow+pages])">&#8220;Google Maps&#8221; vs. &#8220;yellow pages&#8221;</a>)</p>
<p>Is this an actual indicator for increasing usage of Google Maps, while YP usage could be decreasing? At least from some independent reporting, user visits to Google Maps do indeed appear to be fairly healthy and increasing over time. Consider this June report comparing one month&#8217;s usage of Google properties, provided by Hitwise (&#8221;<a href="http://weblogs.hitwise.com/bill-tancer/2007/06/google_universal_search_video.html">Percentage U.S. Visits to Custom Category of Top Google Properties</a>&#8220;:</p>
<p align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1387/1430374450_338db76184.jpg" width="429" height="252" alt="June Hitwise Report: Visits to Google Properties" /></p>
<p>Use of Google Maps appears to be increasing. Why would users perform searches for &#8220;Google Maps&#8221; when they could just click on the &#8220;Maps&#8221; tab/link? Well, most large sites share the experience of having their own domain names and features searched for in the search engines, and Google itself is apparently no exception. </p>
<p>Now, it would be better to be able to compare actual traffic figures from the top search engines and Internet Yellow Pages, but all of them keep pretty mum for strategic reasons. The best we can do is to project estimates and look to companies who report relative audience share and traffic based off of sample sets of the total population of Internet users. ComScore has also reported on relative IYP vs. Local Search vs. Search Engine usage over time, but as Greg Sterling <a href="http://searchengineland.com/070613-143226.php">observes</a>, it&#8217;s been a bit hard of late to interpret their relative figures compared with past stats.</p>
<p>My gut feeling is that the Google Trends graph for searches for &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; is likely representative of a broad behavioral pattern of Internet users who are going to traditional Yellow Pages sites less and less. If we project the pattern out in time, we can see that searches for &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; might reduce down to nil by as soon as 2011:</p>
<p align="center"><a href="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1362/1430976288_0deb6cca70_o.gif" title="Photo Sharing"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1362/1430976288_f1f50271c4.jpg" width="500" height="77" alt="Yellow Pages Usage Declining" border="0" /><br />
  (click to enlarge)</a></p>
<p>Am I predicting the demise of the Yellow Pages and other local directories based off these projections? Not really! There&#8217;s too much investment in these companies for them to sit idly by as their market share and business foundations erode to search engine competition. The savvy companies are evolving themselves to stay relevant in the new paradigms. Sites like Idearc&#8217;s Superpages.com have been moving away from the &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; moniker by incorporating local search style components, social media characteristics, personalization, and partnering to develop major distribution networks. Local info publisher Marchex has developed a plan of bypassing search engines to large degree through <a href="http://searchengineland.com/070423-154346.php">local domaining</a>, and sites like Yelp, Citysearch, Judy&#8217;s Book, and Local Guides have developed loyal followings through social media and user-generated content like reviews and sharing utilities.</p>
<p>Sure, all these types of sites are dependent upon referral traffic from the major search engines, as a <a href="http://weblogs.hitwise.com/leeann-prescott/2007/04/local_search_marketing_panel_a.html">Hitwise report on local search indicates</a>. But, the major search engines like Google are unlikely to de-index all the business directory sites anytime soon, particularly since Google Maps has steadily enhanced its data with content supplied by many of these same local information companies. (Incidentally, that Hitwise report also supports my notion that keyword searches in Google for &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; may have a close correlation with overall IYP traffic - notice that downward trend.)</p>
<p>I think that classic Yellow Pages sites are going to decline, but the companies behind those sites may evolve and merge with other players so that they will survive in new incarnations.</p>
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		<title>Comparing Mobile Ads in Google &#38; Yahoo</title>
		<link>http://www.netconcepts.com/comparing-mobile-ads-in-google-yahoo/</link>
		<comments>http://www.netconcepts.com/comparing-mobile-ads-in-google-yahoo/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 21 Sep 2007 15:49:59 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chris Smith</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[News &amp; Media]]></category>
<category>Articles</category><category>online marketing</category><category>SEO</category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.netconcepts.com/comparing-mobile-ads-in-google-yahoo/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Google recently opted-in many of their clients’ PPC ads to appear in Google Mobile search results. Yahoo has been offering a small suite of mobile ads for a while now, too, so I thought it’d be interesting to compare their current mobile ad offerings.]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Google recently opted-in many of their clients’ PPC ads to appear in Google Mobile search results. Yahoo has been offering a small suite of mobile ads for a while now, too, so I thought it’d be interesting to compare their current mobile ad offerings.</p>
<p>Google’s announcement that they would automatically opt-in many of their ads to appear on the mobile platform seems somewhat controversial, since one supposes that a number of advertisers might not notice the change and might be irritated that their ads may now be running on an unanticipated platform. After all, many online retailers who advertise expect that some percentage of users clicking through would be placing online purchases, and mobile devices don’t effectively support transactions yet. Google’s <a href="http://www.seobythesea.com/?p=799">patent for Gpay</a> might pave the way for this, but it hasn&#8217;t launched yet. </p>
<p>On one level, Google’s act to opt everyone into this program might not seem all that bad&mdash;after all, advertisers are paying for exposure and referrals, too. Greg Sterling <a href="http://searchengineland.com/070911-162219.php">reports</a> that Google&#8217;s opt-out policy during this trial period is similar to policies Yahoo and Microsoft have used in the past for new/underutilized programs. Since it can be reasonably supposed that CTR on mobile ads is likely relatively low, the cost to advertisers is probably low-to-nil, and Google’s motive is likely just a desire to get research data on mobile ads while also introducing many advertisers to the medium. </p>
<p>A New York Times <a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2007/09/18/technology/18google.html?bl&#038;ex=1190260800&#038;en=a470462dc88125e1&#038;ei=5087%0A">article</a>  quotes Dilip Venkatachari, Product Management Director for AdSense, as saying that &#8220;the ads would provide a new source of revenue for publishers and could encourage more online sites to create mobile-focused Web sites. Like most other Google advertising systems, ad prices will be set through an auction and advertisers will pay when a user clicks on its ad.&#8221; </p>
<p>So, this should encourage more sites to create mobile friendly versions of their sites? While it’s an idealistic desire, the lack of standardization through the wireless devices pose significant challenges to large companies who are already challenged by making things simultaneously attractive, usable, cross-platform compatible, and optimal for search engines. Not to mention that devices such as the iPhone and Palm Treo for Windows are fast making it possible to view &#8220;non-mobilized&#8221; sites just fine, reducing any urgency that companies might feel about getting their content to work well for the new environment. </p>
<p>Interactive advertising on mobile is still very new, and there’s little research as to what’s effective and what works for consumers, much less developers. What many analysts are very sure of is that mobile search is likely to be particularly effective for locally-oriented businesses. As Paul J. Bruemmer <a href="http://searchengineland.com/070919-075231.php">reports</a>, &#8220;While local search marketing is well established, local-mobile search marketing is barely getting started.&#8221; </p>
<p>Paul further voices a concern that many have expressed about the advent of ads on phones, a &#8220;General intolerance of advertising messages on a personal device.&#8221; At least thus far, I’m not hearing a lot of consumer complaints about this yet, perhaps because the ads are not all that obtrusive so far, and perhaps because internet users have already become so accustomed to seeing contextual ads. </p>
<p>For instance, check out these ads I found in Google when doing a search for &#8220;florists in Boston&#8221; on my Treo running Windows and Internet Explorer: </p>
<p align="center">
<div align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1014/1414041406_72475e3816.jpg" width="500" height="487" alt="Mobile Ads - Florists in Boston" /></div>
<p>The ads are located down at the bottom of the search results, and they’re clearly labeled &#8220;Ad&#8221;, so I don’t find them all that annoying. I have seen one ad appear at the top of Google Mobile SERPs before, but it seems to be a very infrequent position for now. </p>
<p>Notice the ad with the URL that appears to be Google-hosted? I wonder if that’s one of the mobile landing pages that Google <a href="http://adwords.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=72226#0.1.1_FAQ2">states</a>  that they may &#8220;adapt&#8221; for users who click through? This seems particularly odd to me, and it looks like the sort of thing where Google ought to spell out under what circumstances they’ll choose to automatically generate a landing page to &#8220;enhance&#8221; the user-experience. This seems very controversial to me, because Google is likely charging advertisers when they click through to those generated landing pages, and advertisers may not realize this, causing them to misinterpret effectiveness of apparent conversion rates. </p>
<p>Now, Yahoo provides advertisers with the ability to purchase similar mobile-friendly pages which I believe are intended for this very purpose, but I don’t think they automatically generate a page in the way that Google does&mdash;it’s voluntary. For instance, check out these ads for &#8220;shoes&#8221; from Yahoo Mobile: </p>
<p align="center">
<div align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1101/1417090539_0044bb0280.jpg" width="500" height="491" alt="Yahoo Mobile Ads" /></div>
<p>When you click on a mobile ad in Yahoo, they provide an optimized mobile landing page. Here’s one that came up for me when I clicked on a Teleflora ad: </p>
<p align="center">
<div align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1021/1417968672_1dc10d1c88.jpg" width="500" height="491" alt="Teleflora Ad in Yahoo Mobile" /></div>
<p>In some cases, Google is choosing to dump users onto the landing pages of the advertiser. For instance, here are ads for a &#8220;shoes&#8221; search in Google Mobile: </p>
<p align="center">
<div align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1174/1417087831_72ed9f9389.jpg" width="500" height="491" alt="Ads for Shoes in Google Mobile" /></div>
<p>And when you click on the ad for Zappos, you get dumped onto their homepage which is not intended for mobile users: </p>
<p align="center">
<div align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1213/1417970428_f6cbc6d594.jpg" width="500" height="487" alt="Zappos Homepage in Google Mobile" /></div>
<p>I’m not sure why Google would land a user onto the graphic-intensive <a href="http://www.zappos.com/">Zappos</a> page in this case, instead of using their optimized mobile landing page. Perhaps Google Mobile didn’t think I needed it, since I’m running on a flavor of Internet Explorer? More likely, I’m supposing if the advertiser’s existing landing page includes a phone number, as every page on the Zappos site does, Google may conditionally choose not to automatically generate a more pared-down mobile landing page. </p>
<p>If you’re interested in seeing how your landing page or webpage might be automatically adapted by Google to appear for mobile users, check it out through this interface: <a href="http://google.com/gwt/n">http://google.com/gwt/n</a></p>
<p>Just from observation, <a href="http://mobile.yahoo.com/business/advertiser">Yahoo&#8217;s Mobile Ad Service</a> appears broader and more robustly envisioned, allowing a variety of ad types for mobile, including Display Ads, Search Ads, and Video Ads. Yahoo’s promo copy reads &#8220;…click through to a promotional site, enable the consumer to find or call a store directly, offer a coupon, send an SMS message&mdash;the options keep expanding. If you don’t have a promotional site to link to, Yahoo can create one to your specifications.&#8221; </p>
<p>Since Mobile Search and Local Mobile Search are still relatively virgin marketing territories, Google can be forgiven some early program gaffes. But, online marketers may want to go and opt-out some of their current campaigns from running automatically in the mobile end since it could obscure some of their conversion data, particularly if the ads are intended to primarily drive online transactions. It would be better to set up separate campaigns with separate reporting and check to see if an optimal mobile landing page can be associated with the ad. </p>
<p>Also, for mobile ads, be aware that there’s theoretically greater potential for click-fraud. As I earlier outlined in &#8220;<a rel=no follow href="http://searchengineland.com/070903-083455.php">A Thorny Issue: Detecting Mobile Search Click-Fraud</a>&#8220;, invalid clicks may be a lot harder to identify for mobile ads. </p>
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		<title>Interview with Persuasion Architect, Bryan Eisenberg</title>
		<link>http://www.netconcepts.com/interview-with-persuasion-architect-bryan-eisenberg/</link>
		<comments>http://www.netconcepts.com/interview-with-persuasion-architect-bryan-eisenberg/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 12 Sep 2007 13:46:52 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Stephan Spencer</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[News &amp; Media]]></category>
<category>Online Customer Service</category><category>online marketing</category><category>Podcasts</category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.netconcepts.com/interview-with-persuasion-architect-bryan-eisenberg/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[ Persuasion Architecture is based on Bryan’s idea that, “everybody does things for their own reasons.” These reasons translate into four, distinct preferences, the how and why people do the things that they do. Once you understand the four basic personality types — emotional, logical, fast-paced, and disciplined — you can build perspectives or snapshots [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p> Persuasion Architecture is based on Bryan’s idea that, “everybody does things for their own reasons.” These reasons translate into four, distinct preferences, the how and why people do the things that they do. Once you understand the four basic personality types — emotional, logical, fast-paced, and disciplined — you can build perspectives or snapshots that give you insight into how your customers might want to purchase your products. Once you understand the “how,” then you can build the “who.” Who is buying your products from your site? That’s where profiles come into play, small pictures to what Bryan says will “give us a little better understanding of who that grouping or that mode of behavior is going to be — and then ultimately two personas.”</p>
<p>Listen to Stephan Spencer&#8217;s interview with Bryan Eisenberg for more about how to boost your site’s conversion rate.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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			<enclosure url="http://www.marketingspeak.com/audio/bryan-eisenberg-interview.mp3" length="9886472" type="audio/mpeg"/>
<itunes:duration>40:26</itunes:duration>
		<itunes:subtitle>Persuasion Architecture is based on Bryanrsquo;s idea that, ldquo;everybody does things for their own reasons.rdquo; These reasons translate into four, distinct preferences, the how and ...</itunes:subtitle>
		<itunes:summary>Persuasion Architecture is based on Bryanrsquo;s idea that, ldquo;everybody does things for their own reasons.rdquo; These reasons translate into four, distinct preferences, the how and why people do the things that they do. Once you understand the four basic personality types mdash; emotional, logical, fast-paced, and disciplined mdash; you can build perspectives or snapshots that give you insight into how your customers might want to purchase your products. Once you understand the ldquo;how,rdquo; then you can build the ldquo;who.rdquo; Who is buying your products from your site? Thatrsquo;s where profiles come into play, small pictures to what Bryan says will ldquo;give us a little better understanding of who that grouping or that mode of behavior is going to be mdash; and then ultimately two personas.rdquo;

Listen to Stephan Spencer's interview with Bryan Eisenberg for more about how to boost your sitersquo;s conversion rate. </itunes:summary>
		<itunes:keywords>News,amp;,Media</itunes:keywords>
		<itunes:author>megan@netconcepts.com</itunes:author>
		<itunes:explicit>no</itunes:explicit>
		<itunes:block>No</itunes:block>
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